Jhumki Bannerjee—making a difference in the lives of others

Jhumki Bannerjee‘s energy in creating the strongest version of herself often inspires others to follow their lead. She knows what makes her happy and she takes that happiness and deeply buries the roots to protect it from ill weather, heavy rain, and strong winds (metaphorically speaking). She shares her happiness with everyone, but is quick to protect it from those who chose to do it wrong or try to uproot it. She makes decisions that cultivate the life that makes her happy with courage, dedication, and perseverance. She leans in. Oh, and of course she puts positive energy into the Universe, asking nothing in return.

Tell us about yourself…

Hello This Is Jhumki Bannerjee. I am a single mother and now a Trustee and Secretary of an organization (NGO) named Notun JibonI got separated with my husband in 2017. My children’s education was the main reason we got separated. My husband never wanted them to study in a good school whereas I always wanted them study in good school. Now my Son Rajveer is studying in Gyanoday Niketan School (Darjeeling) in class 9 and my daughter Subhangi is in St. Joseph’s College (Darjeeling) doing her 1st year.

Tell us about your journey….
I always wanted to help the under-privileged and then in 2017 I met Arup Sengupta, my Guruji my Mentor. He changed me, even he changed my life. He taught me how can I help unfortunate, how can I communicate with them, how can I spread this work. Then on 31st Dec night we , Arupda, Dalia Boudi (Arupda’s wife) my Daughter and I went out and distributed blankets to the Unfortunates in kolkata. For the very first time I saw poverty so close. From that day my journey started with my organization.

What according to you is success?
I am still not successful and I don’t think I can explain it properly . But wherever I am today is because of my Guruji🙏
Well I still haven’t found this answer. My guruji Arup Sengupta always used to tell me “Jhumki you have to find yourself” and I’m still finding the right answer. But what I feel is I am a guadian of more than 1200 underprivileged familes in Sundarban trying to make them independent, trying to educate their children.

What about recognition for your work?
No I haven’t received any award yet.
I will make this organization much bigger so that I will be able to help many more people and save many lives


What is your message to the readers?

Please support us🙏. With your support we can help many more needy peopleBecause we believe “Each One Feed One” and my Guruji and I believe that “No One Should Sleep Hungry At Night”.
Keep Loving Us and Keep Blessing Us. 🙏

About dyslexiagoa

Remediana Dias is the author of the book—“Understanding Dyslexia”. She studied M.Sc in Specific Learning Difficulties at the University of Southampton, UK. She is the founder of the NGO—Vision Education Society in Goa. She was recently recognized as the Indian Achiever among the top 50 under 50 for the year 2020 for her work in the field of education.

Posted on May 30, 2021, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment