Inacio A. Fernandes—innovative technocrat

Inacio A. Fernandes is a young man who dared to dream big. You can see the stars in his eyes that unveil his humble beginning. It is his burning passion and indomitable spirit, that has helped him stand out as a self-made entrepreneur. He can be best described as a heterogeneous mix of confidence, risk tolerance, self-discipline, determination and competitiveness and these qualities helped him to start a business and see it through to success.Inacio took an idea and set forth to build something.

Inacio is fully driven, motivated, and holds himself accountable for anything happening to him rather than blaming anyone. He executes the best and flawless version of himself by delivering outstanding values. Being a technocrat, he exults innovation, “Without innovation, there is no growth,” he says. The experience has not been a smooth ride, as you may think. He has had ups and downs, but with God’s help and prayers, he says he has overcome. He was not born with a golden spoon and faced external, internal, and other obstacles. He was moving alone with no one to depend on. Despite him having no mentor, he says that he had no room for mistakes. Before doing anything, he would research and figure out what it meant if he succeeds. Making wise and informed choices were his priority. “I had to prove myself and show my achievements, as you can see today. By mastering and understanding all the challenges, I had to understand how to leverage everything to my advantage. Through patience and discipline, I made it. It’s really easy to get disappointed or distracted when things aren’t going your way, have to stay focused and be aware of the situation.”

1. When where why and how did you begin your professional life. Tell us about your journey.

Soon after my graduation I got placed in my college’s placement drive in Wipro InfoTech. The year was 2009, the year of recession. We had the offer letter but no joining date. I then started as a SEO – Content Writer in OPSPL Verna, and later joined Wipro in 2010 as a Database Administrator. I later joined CGI in 2012 and enjoyed many promotions in 5 year stint with them.  I also completed my Masters in Computer Application and Post Graduate Diploma in Management during the same time.  But there was something missing and I felt my potential wasn’t been fully tapped. Feeling inspired from my learnings in MBA, I decided to start my own venture. As I scouted for ideas as to what my new venture will be about, I felt inspired in the lovely fast paced Mumbai Local. Books are my companions on my every journey, and the journey in the Local wasn’t any different. I found myself switching from lengthy novels or self-help books to short reads like short stories owing to the frequent interruptions one would encounter during the journey.  I felt young writers like me who once wrote perhaps in school and college, now required a platform that will encourage them to pick up that pen, and hence the idea for Novella Short Stories was born. 

I started Criador Solutions in 2017 and Novella Short Stories was launched in 2018. Since then thousands of young authors from all around the globe have used the platform to publish their stories which are widely read. I am making continuous efforts to inspire youngsters to explore their creative side and get their stories penned through my workshops and courses I conduct in educational institutes, creative studios and even online classes.

2. What is the secret of your success and what does success mean to you?

The smile on the face of a parent looking at their child proudly read a story that they have just written at the workshop I conducted, is success. That feeling of accomplished I enjoy, for having enabled and empowered this participant to feel joyfully proud of herself, is indeed magical. Now coming to the secret. I believe “Not everything can be counted. A lot can be felt.” That feeling of joy is undoubtedly success to me.

3. Any striking incident in your life that had a deep impact on your life that had a deep impact on you or changed the course of your life? 

There many incidences or episodes that are very defining moments in your life. The one I would like to mention here, is that phase of my life when I had to decide to leave a lucrative career in MNC’s as a well-established techie, to pursue a dream or calling for the passion I have. It did change many things in the years that followed and may be even now it is still evolving. The journey is undoubtedly tough, yet it the sense of accomplishment is sweet and beautiful.

4. Describe you as a person.

I would describe myself as a young passionate entrepreneur and a coming of age story-teller. I’m a vociferous reader and a budding author by passion and a techie by qualifications. I am always eager to inspire youngsters through my workshops and motivational talks. I am currently the CEO, and Founder Director of Criador Solutions and Curator of Novella Short Stories.

5. What are the challenges you faced and how did you overcome them?

There are many challenges that I faced in this journey and that is not the end of it. Each day is a new challenge. Major hurdle I feel was to remain profitable and relevant at the same time. I took each day’s challenge one at a time, and treated each of them as a milestone. Each successful completion was celebrated and rewarded. I feel that is the best way to conquer life’s mammoth difficulties and challenges.

6. About the awards and accolades received by you.

The happy faces of the participants beaming with confidence after the workshop or course I conduct, are nothing short of an award. I treasure these more than other recognitions I received so far. I was humbled to be an official delegate at Goa Arts & Literature Festival 2019. I have also been interviewed by and featured on CCRTV Goa, and other leading news agencies in Goa. 

7. What are your hobbies and interests? Do you get time to pursue them? How do you strike a balance between professional and personal life?

I am pursuing my passion in literature professionally and I love my job (Not many people get to say this). My work does consume me at times, but I enjoy every bit of it. Other than that I love cooking, travelling and occasionally strum my guitar and play the keyboards. 

8. What are you future plans?

I wish that I could inspire many more youngsters to pursue creative story writing and help them pen their stories. I had plans for 2020 to explore the opportunities in Delhi and Mumbai, but the pandemic played the spoilsport. However, I have explored into online classes. Hoping that 2021 be more promising and exciting for me as an individual and for Novella Short Stories, as a creative movement.

About dyslexiagoa

Remediana Dias is the author of the book—“Understanding Dyslexia”. She studied M.Sc in Specific Learning Difficulties at the University of Southampton, UK. She is the founder of the NGO—Vision Education Society in Goa. She was recently recognized as the Indian Achiever among the top 50 under 50 for the year 2020 for her work in the field of education.

Posted on December 11, 2020, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment